Assessment Myself / Self Examination / Contradictions – Week 2

I am here, in the PotCert, to learn, to learn a lot, because I have no experience teaching. It is really a very good experience to read the peers week 2 posts, and the tools provided are really a good start. I took some of your experience to think about it. I will give some months classes during my MA this academic year, but not yet. So let’s go to do a self-examination and check what I would do. I found some contradictions between my thoughts, by answering the questionaire, and the results I thought I would have.

Nestor Alonso Picture / (CC BY-SA 2.0)

The title is each holding a part (of the knowledge). This is what I thing it should work. Every one sharing their knowledge to do a unit. But after filling the questionnaire and watching the Lisa’s video I saw some contradictions, because my answers didn’t fit with it.

Assessment myself, this is what I am doing beginning of week 2 of the Pot Cert proposal. To fill in a questionnaire and to evaluate the results. So simple? Not when the obtained results are not what you think you should have. This make moving your head from one side to the other, checking the questionnaire and the answers to ensure everything is right. And the result remain equal. You are on the right side of the line. This is not bad or good itself, the problem is when you think you are in the left side/middle and you confirmed you are in the right.

Howsoever I am not actually a teacher, so this is not only to see what kind of teacher I am, better is what kind of teacher I would be. So, really, I am starting from the beginning and I can improve to the best proposal, if there is a best proposal, of course.

Talking about my matter, philosophy, I think that the best is to be at the right side, that means providing a big amount of content to the students but, after some reflection about the drawings Lisa linked, I think there is good a second step where the students could take part of the teacher’s role and produce and drive the class and the materials, and introduce discussions in the class. So probably I would move to a combination of lectures and discussions. Then there are several proposals for the activities I am sure I will reflect about. But the main thing is that I would do a two step proposal, giving as much materials as possible, not only lectures but also videos and other internet material as a first; and a second step where the students were able to share their experiences and thoughts after attending all of these lectures.

So, I think correct would be a little bit more to the left than my 19. I saw I am very prescriptive, probably because my inexperience, and I think that I should be a little bit less and give more flexibility to the students with this second step. There was a very interesting reflection for me because, with this short questionnaire and drawing, I saw that I was thinking to do the same teaching I received in the university, and I always critiziced, and permit me to understand and see a different way of teaching.

10 thoughts on “Assessment Myself / Self Examination / Contradictions – Week 2

  1. Thanks for sharing your ideas about where you are and where you would like to go. I would only recommend that you make changes gradually, incrementally moving in small steps over a few semeters rather than rushing into giant shifts.

    I hope this course will give you many helpful ideas about how to do this.

    Jim

    • Thank you very much for your comment and your encouraging. You are right step by step. I will explain my first experiences near in october/november, I will try to do it gradually.
      About the ideas, yes, philosophy permit a good introduction by lectures but also a nice time for discussions; and also blogs and comments would be a good idea to propose to the students after the lectures. We will see.

      See you online.

  2. Pedagogical style doesn’t necessarily have to be the same over the course of an entire semester. I could see a course in which you spend a few weeks presenting a lot of material, then spend another few weeks letting students direct the content and flow of the class, based on that material.

    You could, in theory, shift pedagogical styles several times over the course of the semester. This might even make things more interesting for the students. Last semester, for example, my student evaluations indicated that my course was actually _too_ focused on discussion and student-created content, and that they wanted me to lecture more! I thought that I was working to keep students engaged, but some of them got bored with that pedagogical style.

    • Thank you very much for you comment Constance. This is great. It is a very good idea to do this “hybrid teaching” in a flow type, I mean, flow from the lectures to the discussions in the same semester. The main problem is that I only thought in the first step and now I can see that it is necessary this second step and, as you said, to move from lectures to discussions.
      I can understand your students, sometimes to much lectures is too hard, but I am sure too much discussions can be bored.

      See you online.

  3. It seems to me that in the US at least, there’s been a push back against lecture, which may be a good thing cause perhaps we may have overrelied upon it as a method in the past, but we may have gone so far in the other directions that folks shy away from it entirely, even if it’d be the best fit for the job (e.g. like conveying information about new findings that haven’t been published elsewhere).

    I like this quote:

    The decrying of the wholesale use of lectures is probably justified. The wholesale decrying of the use of lectures is just as certainly not justified. (Spence 1928)

    • Thank you for your comment. Then maybe I am from the past in US 😉
      The thing I see is if there is really good direction. As far as I can see it there are different directions depending of the matters or the step of the course. Don’t you think so? Maybe a lecture direction is good for the first step and to evolve during the course.

  4. Al igual que la idea de mezclar diferentes pedagogías dentro de una clase. Todavía es una realidad que los estudiantes esperan un instructor experto para guiarlos a través del material. Muchas veces no sabemos lo que no sabemos y queremos la ayuda que piden ser directo y no una larga aventura de auto-descubrimiento. La enseñanza para el aprendizaje de los estudiantes estrategias que les permitirá ser más independientes a medida que maduran. Me encanta las cosas por mí mismo, pero no siempre tienen ni idea de por dónde empezar.

    • Gracias por el comentario scottx5. Tienes toda la razón. Probablemente, y hablo en primera persona, respondía al cuestionario pensando en mí como guía de la clase. También estoy de acuerdo que los estudiantes tienen cierta dificultad, si bien no todos probablemente la mayoría, para emprender su propia aventura, y es por eso que requieren un guía que les ayude. Como ya comentamos a lo largo de los post de los compañeros pienso que una combinación, incluso dentro de una clase como apuntas, sería lo más acertado.

Responder

